Awards 2003

A list of those whose outstanding voluntary work has been recognised by the award of the Order of Mercy announced close to the anniversary of the founding of the League. A list appears in the London Gazette on the weekday nearest to that date and also on this web site.

Sir Robert Balchin (President) and the Trustees of the League of Mercy have announced that the Badge of the Order of Mercy for distinguished voluntary work is to be conferred upon the following:

Lady Aird, (The League of Friends of Middlesex Hospital)
Mrs Violet Banach, (Leonard Cheshire, Fife)
Mr Peter Clarke, (ACF Assoc, London)
Mrs Olga Cureton, (NAHCF, Ellesmere)
Ms Celina Domagala, (Polish Community, Bristol)
Mrs Jennie Durward, (Accord Hospice, Paisley)
Mrs Yvonne Flewin, (Abbeyfield, Portsmouth)
Mrs Barbara Gates, (Ystradgynlais Volunteer Centre)
Mr Roy Green, (NAHCF, London)
Mrs Phyllis Hague, (Prince of Wales Hospice, West Yorks)
Mrs Christine Hamilton Stewart, (Marie Curie Cancer Care, London)
Mr Trevor Hartshorn, (Heanor Memorial Hospital)
Mrs Ursula Hill, (Queen Alexandra Hospital)
Mrs Colleen Jones, (King Edward VII Hospital)
The Revd Michael Keulemans, (MV Loach [St Paul's Trust Centre], Liverpool)
Mrs Helenor King, (The Stroke Assoc, Crewe)
Mrs Margaret McLeod, (Maud Hospital)
Mrs Valerie Millar, (T S Resolution)
The Lady Miller, (Nat Assoc of Hosp & Comm Friends)
Mrs Margaret Nash, (Sue Ryder Care Centre, Sandy)
Mr Owen Proctor, (SSAFA Forces Help, London)
Miss Muriel Richardson, (Southampton General Hospital)
Mrs Pat Sheard, (Bradford Teaching Hospitals)
Mrs Margaret Sims, (Leonard Cheshire, Lincs)
Miss Mary Tyrrell, (The League of Friends of the War Memorial Hospital at Gosport)
Mr Cliff Wilson, (Derbyshire Carers Assoc)


Scroll to top