Awards 2006


Sir Robert Balchin, President and the Trustees of the League of Mercy have announced that the Badge of the Order of Mercy was conferred in July 2006 upon the following:


Mrs Julia Badham, (NAHCF) Milford-on-Sea War Memorial Hospital , Lymington

Baroness Betty Boothroyd OM PC, Fight for Sight & National Benevolent Fund for the Aged

Mr Denis Branch, Thame Community Car, Oxon

Mrs Margaret Burrow, Barrow & District Disability Association, Cumbria

Miss Margaret Butler, National Centre for Young People with Epilepsy

Mrs Susan Angela Cummings, The Beacons (Wheel Chair Dancers), Devon

Miss Alina Alicja Domagala, Polish Roman Catholic Church Bristol

Ms Barbara Griffiths, Greenwich Toy & Leisure Library Association Woolwich

Mrs Laurina Hadden, Eden Valley Hospice, Carlisle

Mrs Maria Hains, The League of Friends of Crawley Hospital , West Sussex

Mrs Anne Horton, The Thalidomide Trust, Cambridgeshire

Mrs Sandra Howard, F.A.B.L.E. (For a better life with epilepsy) Sheffield

Mr John Iles, The Guild of Friends of the Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

Mr Norman Keen, Headway East London , London

Mr Albert Legg, The Salvation Army, Exeter

Mrs Barbara Read, Macmillan Cancer Relief, Nottingham

Mr David Roberts, Ottery St Mary & District Hospital League of Friends, Devon

Mrs Jean Saunders MBE, The Good Comanions of Holywell Hospitals, Flintshire

Mrs Lindy Tasker, Young Bristol , Bristol

Mrs Freda Vallett, East Lancashire Hospice Blackburn

Mrs Helen Wharton, Services to Phab, Nene Valley

Mrs June Rosemary Whitaker, Friends of Royal Shrewsbury Hospital , Shrewsbury

Dr Cynthia White, Toynbee Hall, London

Photography by Jacob Carter